According to a 2017 national survey, one in five Americans has a mental illness. Whether it's you or someone you know, it impacts us all, no matter your age, gender, or race. It can be difficult to talk about, leaving many mid-Missourians feeling alone in the dark. That's why we're shining a light on mental health. You are not alone. KOMU 8 Cares... A Brighter Tomorrow.

A Brighter Tomorrow

(CNN) -- President Donald Trump on Saturday signed into law a bipartisan bill that will make 9-8-8 the universal telephone... More >>
6 days ago Monday, October 19 2020 Oct 19, 2020 Monday, October 19, 2020 9:54:51 AM CDT October 19, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- While the world struggles to manage the initial waves of death and disruption caused by the COVID-19 pandemic,... More >>
1 week ago Friday, October 16 2020 Oct 16, 2020 Friday, October 16, 2020 11:06:42 AM CDT October 16, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- "Social distance." It's a phrase that's become a mantra of the pandemic. We see the signs everywhere telling... More >>
1 week ago Thursday, October 15 2020 Oct 15, 2020 Thursday, October 15, 2020 10:26:40 AM CDT October 15, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- With winter on the horizon, it's getting darker earlier each day, and temperatures are slipping. Seasonal affective... More >>
1 week ago Wednesday, October 14 2020 Oct 14, 2020 Wednesday, October 14, 2020 10:19:03 AM CDT October 14, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- Held during the first week of October, Mental Illness Awareness Week is a way for advocates to educate... More >>
2 weeks ago Friday, October 09 2020 Oct 9, 2020 Friday, October 09, 2020 11:11:37 AM CDT October 09, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- Less than a month into the academic year at Brophy College Preparatory in Phoenix, Alex, a 17-year-old high... More >>
2 weeks ago Thursday, October 08 2020 Oct 8, 2020 Thursday, October 08, 2020 10:07:01 AM CDT October 08, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
COLUMBIA - The COVID-19 pandemic has brought on numerous mental health challenges like depression from isolation and anxiety of the... More >>
2 months ago Sunday, August 02 2020 Aug 2, 2020 Sunday, August 02, 2020 4:05:58 PM CDT August 02, 2020 in News
(CNN) -- Exotic vacation pics. Shots of healthy meals. Flattering selfies. Whether you're on Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat or TikTok,... More >>
2 weeks ago Wednesday, October 07 2020 Oct 7, 2020 Wednesday, October 07, 2020 9:54:10 AM CDT October 07, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
ST. LOUIS ( KMOV ) -- It's been just over a month since St. Louis police officer Tamarris Bohannon was... More >>
2 weeks ago Tuesday, October 06 2020 Oct 6, 2020 Tuesday, October 06, 2020 10:48:41 AM CDT October 06, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- Most parents know that their behavior has an effect on their children's mental health, now and possibly forever.... More >>
2 weeks ago Monday, October 05 2020 Oct 5, 2020 Monday, October 05, 2020 9:56:58 AM CDT October 05, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- The US Army has seen a worrisome increase in soldier deaths by suicide since March, raising questions about... More >>
3 weeks ago Friday, October 02 2020 Oct 2, 2020 Friday, October 02, 2020 8:50:23 AM CDT October 02, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- The global pandemic has stress levels running high these days. "One of the first things on everyone's... More >>
3 weeks ago Wednesday, September 30 2020 Sep 30, 2020 Wednesday, September 30, 2020 9:44:00 AM CDT September 30, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
September is National Suicide Prevention and Awareness Month. Suicide is the 10th leading cause of death in America. The American... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, September 23 2020 Sep 23, 2020 Wednesday, September 23, 2020 11:32:37 AM CDT September 23, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
COLUMBIA- There are more than 900,000 Missouri residents who experience a mental illness each year, including nearly 200,000 who experience... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, September 22 2020 Sep 22, 2020 Tuesday, September 22, 2020 3:26:09 PM CDT September 22, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
LANCASTER COUNTY, PA ( WPMT ) -- "It was really, really hard and scary," said James Stafford, a veteran. ... More >>
1 month ago Friday, September 18 2020 Sep 18, 2020 Friday, September 18, 2020 8:52:12 AM CDT September 18, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- People who experience post-traumatic stress disorder may be twice as likely to have dementia later in life, according... More >>
1 month ago Wednesday, September 16 2020 Sep 16, 2020 Wednesday, September 16, 2020 8:50:08 AM CDT September 16, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- A mother's depression and anxiety from conception through the first year of the baby's life is associated with... More >>
1 month ago Tuesday, September 15 2020 Sep 15, 2020 Tuesday, September 15, 2020 4:52:47 PM CDT September 15, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- Primary school students in China experienced more depressive symptoms and made more suicide attempts after schools closed for... More >>
1 month ago Monday, September 14 2020 Sep 14, 2020 Monday, September 14, 2020 9:09:06 AM CDT September 14, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
Columbia, MO
Broken Clouds 42°
9pm 41°
10pm 41°
11pm 41°
12am 41°

Mental Health Resources

Crisis Hotlines

  • Mid-Missouri Crisis Line
  • 1-888-761-4357
  • 1-573-445-5035
  • Suicide Prevention Hotline
  • 1-800-273-8255
  • Mental Health Crisis Hotline
  • 1-800-395-2132
  • Vet2Vet: Veteran's Crisis Hotline
  • 1-877-VET2VET (838-2838)
  • United Way 211
  • Cell Phones: 211
  • 1-800-472-4626

Counseling and Treatment in Mid-Missouri

Local Resources and Support Organizations