Local Lookout

Local Lookout is a commitment from KOMU 8 to report the stories of those who are fighting to help flatten the curve. We can rally around our community and those who carry out selfless acts to help their neighbors. Submit your stories of how you’re helping flatten the curve or how a local business is supporting mid-Missouri in this uncertain time.

Grid
List
ELDON - A Missouri ice cream store is setting out to go 1,342 miles in 14 days visiting 134 cities... More >>
2 weeks ago Wednesday, July 22 2020 Jul 22, 2020 Wednesday, July 22, 2020 10:49:00 AM CDT July 22, 2020 in News
JEFFERSON CITY – Gallons of milks passed through the hands of volunteers to people in mid-Missouri on Thursday. United... More >>
1 month ago Thursday, June 11 2020 Jun 11, 2020 Thursday, June 11, 2020 5:29:00 PM CDT June 11, 2020 in News
FULTON – Jess Carneal works about 40 hours a week at Brooklyn Pizza in Fulton. But when he’s not working,... More >>
2 months ago Friday, May 22 2020 May 22, 2020 Friday, May 22, 2020 6:36:00 PM CDT May 22, 2020 in News
COLUMBIA - It was not the Mother's Day the Keithahn family was expecting, but they still made the most of... More >>
3 months ago Sunday, May 10 2020 May 10, 2020 Sunday, May 10, 2020 5:57:00 PM CDT May 10, 2020 in News
COLUMBIA - Hotels around Columbia are offering discounted rates for health care workers who need to isolate from their families.... More >>
3 months ago Tuesday, May 05 2020 May 5, 2020 Tuesday, May 05, 2020 6:22:00 PM CDT May 05, 2020 in News
COLUMBIA - Hickman High School teachers put signs on the front yards of seniors Monday to celebrate their high school... More >>
3 months ago Monday, April 27 2020 Apr 27, 2020 Monday, April 27, 2020 1:25:00 PM CDT April 27, 2020 in News
HOLTS SUMMIT - Three women have made more than 1,000 masks for essential workers, patients and people at high risk... More >>
3 months ago Sunday, April 26 2020 Apr 26, 2020 Sunday, April 26, 2020 10:35:00 PM CDT April 26, 2020 in News
COLUMBIA - Musicians across the United States are turning to social media platforms to connect with fans. But, in-person concerts... More >>
3 months ago Saturday, April 25 2020 Apr 25, 2020 Saturday, April 25, 2020 6:52:00 PM CDT April 25, 2020 in News
COLUMBIA - While many local bands have decided to cancel their performances and put a pause on practices due to... More >>
3 months ago Friday, April 24 2020 Apr 24, 2020 Friday, April 24, 2020 7:24:00 AM CDT April 24, 2020 in News
COLUMBIA - Local senior citizens are receiving cheerful pieces of mail thanks to insurance company Senior Services Marketing. It’s... More >>
3 months ago Wednesday, April 22 2020 Apr 22, 2020 Wednesday, April 22, 2020 5:10:00 AM CDT April 22, 2020 in News
FULTON - As the COVID-19 pandemic continues, one Fulton store is stepping up to help honor their community's frontline workers.... More >>
3 months ago Monday, April 20 2020 Apr 20, 2020 Monday, April 20, 2020 6:11:00 PM CDT April 20, 2020 in News
HALLSVILLE – One Hallsville mother is hoping to share her joy of reading through her newly created public library. ... More >>
3 months ago Monday, April 20 2020 Apr 20, 2020 Monday, April 20, 2020 12:31:00 PM CDT April 20, 2020 in News
COLUMBIA — Some Columbia elementary schoolers could be getting free books next week. Kristen Ventrillo teaches third grade at... More >>
3 months ago Sunday, April 19 2020 Apr 19, 2020 Sunday, April 19, 2020 11:30:00 AM CDT April 19, 2020 in News
MEXICO — People drove up to celebrate a unique baby shower with an expectant mother Saturday. Kali Lewis is... More >>
3 months ago Saturday, April 18 2020 Apr 18, 2020 Saturday, April 18, 2020 7:24:00 PM CDT April 18, 2020 in News
COLUMBIA - If you looked outside your window and saw a cart full of 6-week-old puppies, you'd smile too. ... More >>
3 months ago Wednesday, April 15 2020 Apr 15, 2020 Wednesday, April 15, 2020 4:15:00 PM CDT April 15, 2020 in News
COLUMBIA – Miller’s Professional Imaging came together and created face shields to give to local hospitals. Jake Eldredge is... More >>
4 months ago Saturday, April 11 2020 Apr 11, 2020 Saturday, April 11, 2020 2:14:00 PM CDT April 11, 2020 in News
MOBERLY - One local appliance shop is making face shields to help front line workers during the COVID-19 pandemic. ... More >>
4 months ago Saturday, April 11 2020 Apr 11, 2020 Saturday, April 11, 2020 1:07:00 PM CDT April 11, 2020 in News
COLUMBIA – Even though the doors are technically closed at The Boys and Girls Club of Columbia, Club services are... More >>
4 months ago Saturday, April 11 2020 Apr 11, 2020 Saturday, April 11, 2020 11:11:00 AM CDT April 11, 2020 in News
BOONVILLE – Dalton Johnson is disappointed that he will not be able to finish his senior year with his friends... More >>
4 months ago Friday, April 10 2020 Apr 10, 2020 Friday, April 10, 2020 5:38:00 PM CDT April 10, 2020 in News
COLUMBIA - As schools nationwide are adapting to remote learning, one Columbia preschool owner is doing the same. Michelle... More >>
4 months ago Thursday, April 09 2020 Apr 9, 2020 Thursday, April 09, 2020 12:38:00 PM CDT April 09, 2020 in News
Columbia, MO
Broken Clouds 75°
11am 77°
12pm 80°
1pm 82°
2pm 83°
Submit Your local Lookout

EmVP